New at this

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Acequist

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everybody,
I am a college student at Cal Poly in California, and i have had a pet turtle for a year and a half now, and i just started getting into fish keeping. I used to have a 45g tank in elementary school that i got to pick the fish for, but my dad took care of (so not really mine!). And now i am in the process of cycling my first tank.

Im still pretty confused on the process, but its a 10g tank (i wanted bigger, but i couldn't afford any larger than that.

I know its a bit small, but i eventually plan to get 1 small red tailed shark, some ghost shrimp, and four schooling fish, but im not sure which.

Hopefully after i graduate, i can get a bigger tank, and move the fish to that.

Welcome to AA! :grin:There are some very nice people with lots of knowledge here and we will help you in setting up and stocking your tank.

Welcome to AA :) Check out the article in my signature on fishless cycling, that should make it less confusing for you. And you'll want to re-think your stocking. a 10g is too small for a red tailed shark

welcometoaa.gif

My current tank is 20" long, i was joping that woud be good enough to house a red tail for one year? then i will be getting a larger tank?

Or is this a no-no?

My current tank is 20" long, i was joping that woud be good enough to house a red tail for one year? then i will be getting a larger tank?

Or is this a no-no?
That's fine. Looking forward to your tank build in the future.