New at this

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FireGirl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I'm new with this hobby, and yes...I have the "fish disease" as my husband calls it. I have a 36 gal Bow front with African Cichlids. Setup a 10 gal for quarantine tank...it is already a nursery (Red Zebras)! Working on a place for a 125 gal tank to move the larger Cichlids to.

I do have some kind of algae? problem in the 36 gal tank. It is a reddish-brownish colored powdery film which is on practically everything. It started as a couple little spots and is rapidly spreading. It is on the glass, rocks, plant (which are fakies), heater, filter tubing, etc. It wipes off quite easily with the algae scrapper. Any ideas of what this may be and how to get rid of it? This tank has been setup for approximately 4-5 months.

TIA
Patti

lmkbubblfsh.gif

to AquariumAdvice.com!!!

Your algae sounds like diatomes. Algae eaer fish should take care of it in FW.

I can't help you with the algae, but as a fellow cichlid keeper--I am jealous! Baby cichlids AND working on a place for a 125 gal!!! I thought I was lucky when my fiancé decided it was time for an 80 gal. Our tanks are out of direct sunlight and there is virtually no algae growth.

Thank you!

Thank you to all for the quick responses - diatomes! I'll be taking care of those little buggers!

Menagerie
I wasn't trying for a nursery...it just happened. My friends tried to breed Cichlids in the past, didn't work out for them. Wouldn't you know, a novice and it "just happens!"

My tank tenants are:

1- Cyphotilspia frontosa
1 -Neolamprologus leleupi orange
1- Neolamprologus pulcher "daffodil"
1- Aulonocara baenschi "Benga yellow"
1- Cytocara moorii "hap moorii" (Blue Dolphin)
1- Metriaclima estherae "red zebra" (currently in nursery tank)
1- Pseudotropheus aurora Mozambique
1- Pseudotropheus elongates Chewere