Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-13-2019, 10:36 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New Betta

I purchased a Betta this weekend. I have her set up in a 5 gallon tank with filter and heater. Concerned about it being a new tank and not cycled. I came here to seek advice and help along the way.
I have been wanting a white betta for 6 years and I just couldn’t bring myself to purchase one having it shipped. I just happened to be in a local pet store and there she was (he, is a she to me). Even more beautiful than I had imagined with a pink and blue sheen to her fins, iridescent. Anyhow, she came home immediately. I have had freshwater fish in the past, it’s been years though. Never a betta. Until now.

Old 11-13-2019, 05:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Hi! I'm new at the entire fish-keeping thing, but I actually got into it with a betta. From my understanding, it's obviously not ideal to have a tank that isn't cycled when you purchase the fish. That being said, I did do this and my betta has done very, very well. I did have a bloom (my son may or may not have fed the fish when I wasn't looking), but I did a 30% change, followed by a 20% change a week later. It cleared up and the tank looks great. In fact, I just bought a blue and white betta on Sunday. I couldn't resist. You said you had fish before, so I assume you bought some water conditioner?

Old 11-13-2019, 05:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak