Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-22-2016, 12:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New Betta Owner

Hello Everyone,

My name is Chelsi & I'm the proud new owner of a beautiful male half moon dumbo Betta. His name is Falcor. The pet store said he was a baby. He lives in a 5 gallon palace just for him.

I use to have a 15 gallon wide tank years ago, but never had a Betta. So I am new to Betta's, but not new to tanks. However, it has been so long now that I feel like I know nothing about it now. I have to admit that I am having some trouble getting going on this tank. I am starting to feel like the more research I do, the more I realize that the pet store probably didn't give me the best information as a beginner.

Any advice for beginners is welcome. Thanks and have a beautiful day!

Old 09-22-2016, 09:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

Congrats! I hope your tank is cycled to keep you new baby safe.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 09-22-2016, 11:34 PM   #3

Welcome!

Yay you for getting a 5 gallon tank for a betta, that's a perfect size! Have you done a fishless cycle on the 5 gallon tank because that really helps keep the ammonia, nitrates and nitrites levels low? I would also suggest some low light plants like java fern or Moss balls. Bettas love a natural environment.
I'll be glade to help if you have questions, I'm a beginner too but I could share research I've done and the success I've had with my betta and planted 5 gallon tank.
Old 09-23-2016, 08:06 PM   #4
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

Welcome!
Old 10-01-2016, 10:11 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMaier View Post
Congrats! I hope your tank is cycled to keep you new baby safe.