New Found Fish Love !

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JennaSimpson

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello fellow fish keepers :fish2:

Im new to the fish world , other than my child hood gold fish . My mothers day present was a 36 gallon domed tank. I set it up with natural (earth toned gravel) 2 fake logs and a tiki man as fish hideaways and fake as well as live plants. My tank is the home to a 3 inch pleco , male and female dwarf Gourami , crowntail betta , and 1 mystery snail . I loved the Gouramis and was intrested in getting more but they always stay hidden ! unless its feeding time :facepalm:. Any fish suggestions?

Well- while I don't have suggestions regarding additional fish- f your pleco is a standard pleco- it is going to eventually outgrow that tank!

Good news here ! I bought 3 more gouramis and still they all stayed hidden . 2 days ago I raised my temp from 78 to 80 and now they all stay out ! I'm amazed that only 2 degrees would affect them so much but this is the only change in my tank . Unless it's coincidence and they just finally acclimated to my tank !

Welcome to the forum. Your current stocking is kinda difficult because there are some incompatible species together. Gouramis/bettas can be hard to keep with one another because of aggression, so definitely keep an eye out for it.

Actually the dwarf gouramis and betta ate very peaceful together . Male bettas are typically only agressive with other male bettas .

Actually the dwarf gouramis and betta ate very peaceful together . Male bettas are typically only agressive with other male bettas .

You must have a very peaceful betta. I'm lucky that I have one too. Generally though male bettas will attack other fish in addition to other bettas, particularly brightly colored or flowing finned types. But there are always exceptions.