Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-05-2012, 01:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
New Freshwater Tank

Hello all.

I'm interested in purchasing some Zebrafish for my 15 gallon freshwater tank.

I know you're only supposed to introduce one or two fish at a time, but reading about zebrafish it says they like to stay in groups of 3 or more.

Should I only introduce two at a time, or since they are so small would it be alright to introduce three at a time?

How long after I introduce this bunch should I wait to introduce more?

I am using a "safestart" bottle and the tank has been running for 3 days, with a few pieces of gravel from and established tank in there.
__________________

__________________
Glotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glotin
Hello all.

I'm interested in purchasing some Zebrafish for my 15 gallon freshwater tank.

I know you're only supposed to introduce one or two fish at a time, but reading about zebrafish it says they like to stay in groups of 3 or more.

Should I only introduce two at a time, or since they are so small would it be alright to introduce three at a time?

How long after I introduce this bunch should I wait to introduce more?

I am using a "safestart" bottle and the tank has been running for 3 days, with a few pieces of gravel from and established tank in there.
Hi!
Usually zebra danios need a 20g long tank for the proper amount of swimming space but if you have a 15g long that would be ok. What is your tank? They actually prefer to be kept in groups of 6 or more. Letting the tank sit for 3 days with safe start will not cycle the tank. You need an ammonia source to start and continue the cycling process. Introducing some fish to your tank will start a fish in cycle, which is ok , but can be a lot of work. Here is some info on fish in and fishless cycling.
FISHLESS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ing/Page1.html

FISH IN
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...now/Page2.html

Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side.

BEGINNERS GUIDE
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ium/Page1.html
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks for the reply... looks like you do a great job helping people out around here!

My tank is a 15G long tank with gravel. I have 2 fish in there right now and am doing a fish in cylce.

I plan to stock it with 6 darios, algae eater, snail and maybe a DAF or two (need to do more research on that... tank might not be big enough).

From what I've read, the 2 fish I have are enough for the fish in cycle and I shouldn't add any more until the cycle is complete. Once it is complete.. can I only add 2 darios at a time? If so, how long should I wait before adding the other two?

Also, I am planning on adding some Java Ferns.
__________________
Glotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glotin
Thanks for the reply... looks like you do a great job helping people out around here!

My tank is a 15G long tank with gravel. I have 2 fish in there right now and am doing a fish in cylce.

I plan to stock it with 6 darios, algae eater, snail and maybe a DAF or two (need to do more research on that... tank might not be big enough).

From what I've read, the 2 fish I have are enough for the fish in cycle and I shouldn't add any more until the cycle is complete. Once it is complete.. can I only add 2 darios at a time? If so, how long should I wait before adding the other two?

Also, I am planning on adding some Java Ferns.
2 fish is perfect for a fish in cycle. Once it is complete I'd add 2 at a time since adding two will double the bioload so adding 4 IMO will be too much. Your cycle will be complete when you have 0 ammonia and nitrite and rising nitrate. Adding 2 fish every week after this will be fine Imo. What sort I'd algae eater are you thinking? Not many are suitable for a 15g. Your looking at ottos, snails, shrimp and there maybe a small pleco (like pitbulls) that could work (I'm not 100% on the pitbulls we don't have them here I don't think).

Plants will depend on your lighting. Java ferns are pretty indestructible. They will grow in most conditions.

Just so we are clear are we talking about dario darios or danios?
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Ah, sorry, Danio Zebrafish. I knew a pleco would be too big for the tank so was going to go with an otto/snail.

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Glotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glotin
Ah, sorry, Danio Zebrafish. I knew a pleco would be too big for the tank so was going to go with an otto/snail.

Thanks for the help!
No problem
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
The LFS that I use was closed today so I had to go to Petco for supplies.

I did a >50% water change and added some small java ferns (from petco). The water had gotten a bit cloudy over night.

They didn't have the API master test kit (going to have to go to LFS tomorrow), so I bought Tetra test strips.

They have no ammonia reading on them?

Readings shortly after water change (probably pointless to take sample then but...):

Nitrate: ~0
Nitrite: ~.5 ppm
Water hardness: soft
Total Chlorine: ~0
Alkalinity: Low ~35
pH: Neutral

The Kordel water conditioning pack I bought also has an "ammoni/heavy metal, etc. remover". Should I use that just in case? Or am I to assume that because there are no nitrates/nitrites there is no ammonia?

Also, the filter that came with the setup (15G tank) is a Tetra PF10.. how crucial is it that I move up? Only 2 fish in there right now.
__________________
Glotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:15 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glotin
The LFS that I use was closed today so I had to go to Petco for supplies.

I did a >50% water change and added some small java ferns (from petco). The water had gotten a bit cloudy over night.

They didn't have the API master test kit (going to have to go to LFS tomorrow), so I bought Tetra test strips.

They have no ammonia reading on them?

Readings shortly after water change (probably pointless to take sample then but...):

Nitrate: ~0
Nitrite: ~.5 ppm
Water hardness: soft
Total Chlorine: ~0
Alkalinity: Low ~35
pH: Neutral

The Kordel water conditioning pack I bought also has an "ammoni/heavy metal, etc. remover". Should I use that just in case? Or am I to assume that because there are no nitrates/nitrites there is no ammonia?
Id say there is ammonia. .5ppm of nitrite is getting high. You want to keep it low also. Don't use ammonia absorbing products. They will absorb the ammonia starving the bacteria you are trying to grow.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
Id say there is ammonia. .5ppm of nitrite is getting high. You want to keep it low also. Don't use ammonia absorbing products. They will absorb the ammonia starving the bacteria you are trying to grow.
So continue to change the water regularly... is there anything else I can do that wont hinder the cycle?
__________________
Glotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glotin

So continue to change the water regularly... is there anything else I can do that wont hinder the cycle?
Just change the water when you see ammonia or nitrite. Make sure to dechlorinate. keep an eye on pH too. That's all there is too it. Adding anything else such as bottled bacteria, zymes, etc are not needed. You can add plants. They will help the cycle because they consume ammonia, nitrite and nitrate.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, freshwater tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you had a 10000 Gallon Tank fishyperson3010 Aquaria Off-Topic 397 03-26-2014 03:48 PM
jose7878 new 150 gal jose7878 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 284 02-07-2013 06:15 PM
New 60 Gallon (Now 40b) Build!! skywhitney Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 738 01-18-2013 12:35 AM
10 Gallon reef tank Nemo6292 Nano Reefs 101 09-04-2012 01:02 PM
Help with planted tank! Joostrom Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 36 03-18-2012 12:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.