Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-09-2009, 03:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New Guy looking for advice...

Hello,

I'm a college student and have just come across a 10 gallon fish tank. I have no clue waht i need to set it up, but i would like to keep the cost down. I've read the post on the fishless cycle and am thinking about trying this out. I want to go about this the right way to make some happy fishies. Also since I'm a full time student and have a job I'm wondering how much time a week this whole thing will take.

Thanks for any advice to get me started on the right path...

Old 08-09-2009, 06:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

what all do you have with it? A good filter is the first thing you need to get... unless you have one already. Make sure that you use some kind of dechlorinator when you put your water in. What kinds of fish are you thinking about putting in? Depending on how well you maintain your aquarium and how you stock it, it could be a matter of minutes a week or hours. I have 6 tanks all together, four 55 gallon, one 30, and one 10... i spend maybe an hour, hour and a half all together in a week. I do a weekly 10-15% water change, and then the rest of the time is just every other day feedings and general maintenance... As long as you dont overstock the tank, you wont have any major time consuming jobs involved... I could give you a much better idea of what you need if you could tell us what all you have, if anything, with the tank

Old 08-09-2009, 07:02 PM   #3

Well....i didnt get to the tank in time so i dont have anything now...but after looking around at fish and things i really would like to purcahse one..im thinking like 10-15 gallons ummm if you have any ideas on what to buy it would be helpful