Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-20-2013, 12:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New here!

Hey all! I'm just getting started in the aquarium world, but I have a 20 gallon freshwater going with a figure 8 puffer, a ghost knife, a cory catfish, and a few tetra's. Testing my water and so far all is well but learning how to keep the ammonia down is hard. My ghost knife doesn't like light so I've been keeping my blue LEDs on but I want to see what's going on in there and see the beautiful colors of my figure 8 so I'm going to have to get some hiding places in there for the ghost knife so I can turn on the ballasts and light it up. I also have a 14 gallon biocube started but all it has in it right now is some live sand and a fiji live rock. Water levels are good becuase there's nothing in it really but I'm thinking I want to go reef with this since it's small. I may start with a carpet anemone and a clown fish, and go from there.

Old 01-20-2013, 02:16 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Welcome to AA!

Old 01-20-2013, 02:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA! i know this isnt whatt you want to hear but your tanks stock isnt appropriate. figure 8 puffer, a ghost knife, a cory catfish, and a few tetra's.
first, Cory's need a minimum of 4 and tetras 6, and if you have different kinds you need 6 of each, they are schooling. The ghost knife- can you clarify what kind?clown, black, brown???
The puffer I believe is brackish, and also is aggressive. Did you cycle your tank? If so how? What are your ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate readings?
Old 01-20-2013, 02:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

to AA! We hope ya enjoy
Old 01-20-2013, 10:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McFadden View Post