New here and need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fjords93

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I am new to this fish world, I recently rescued some common goldfish and I am trying to provide the best care I can. I currently have a small 3 gallon tank, I know they are a bit over crowded but it's the best I can offer my 4 little Goldie's. I am looking for suggestions on what I can add to the tank (plant or fish) that would help keep it cleaner and a safe living environment for my fish. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Welcome to the forums :)
I also have goldfish but in a 55 gallon aquarium. Only thing I can tell you from experience is don't get the small plants or love once, not even a moss ball. They will take it out of the gravel and if it's alive, they will eat it.

Having had 3 years experience with goldfish I will pass on my advice. I had a 30 litre tank with 2 goldfish, an external filter, a couple of fake plants and a couple of ornate pieces and I got to know someone who kept goldfish for 40 years and told me that after 3 years of seemingly happy swimming around that mine were dying after being constricted in small space. I needed at least 100 litres, with no obstacles (apparently they can injure themselves as they are clumsy swimmers) and should be kept in groups of 5 or more to give them social structure. I felt bad for them so gave them to him as he had 4 ponds and 4 250 litre tanks all varied goldfish breeds, and mine have now grown to about 5x their size when I had them and they are approx 5yrs old now. Although one shows signs of age and has discolouration and less active, the other is thriving and they are in a tank of about 10 fish.