New here and suffering from MTS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Roccus

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all...my name is Joe and I am a fish keeping junkie...not as bad as some.. but the infection is there...

I'm a 58 year old machinist /mechanic from Eastern Massachusetts.... My screen name comes from a fish I dearly love...The Striped bass... until a few decades ago it's scientific name was Roccus Saxatillis...some one discovered a fish else where with the same and renamed my beloved fish Morone Saxatillis...
I've been keeping fish in some capacity for 50 odd years... until last April it was all fresh water and ponds...
I've always wanted to have a Salt water tank but never seemed to have the time or courage to "go for it".... My wife gave me a 65 gallon long for my birthday last February.. so I studied and acquired enough Knowledge to give it a try.... I built a 30 gallon sump/filter in my basement/shop.. the return lines to the display run through the wall upstairs ( in my foyer) and supply the tank with water.. the tank houses live rock...Zoa's.. soft corals.. a bubble coral and fish.. peppermint shrimp assorted snails and hermit crabs.. I'm still learning ( mostly from minor mistakes) which is the main reason I landed here..... I'll go into more details about that tank in another post..