Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-29-2011, 01:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 12
Unhappy New Hobby UH OH!

Hi everybody! I decided to start a freshwater aquarium and now I feel like Iím drowning (no pun intended)!

I bought a 29 gallon tank, small smooth gravel substrate, decorations with some hiding places, Aqueon filter, a heater, some plants (I have no idea what they are. I got them from Petco), a hood with a 30 watt florescent light, a net and an algae cleaner. Iíll get food once I get the fish. I really donít want to spend anymore money! Do I have everything I need?

The tank is running with all this stuff in it. I put some of the gravel and a fake plant from my Betta bowl in the tank to help "cycle" it. When can I start putting fish in the tank?

I wasn't planning on putting my Betta in the new tank but now I feel guilty about it. If I put him in this tank what other fish can I put with him. I want some fish with personality but also wont start trouble with my Betta... he is an old man! I can leave him in his 2 gallon bowl if the transition would be too stressful.

Any stocking ideas at all would be great!!! Iím not at all familiar with freshwater fish. Thank you so much!!!
Linda
__________________

__________________
xxlindaxx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 02:04 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Big-j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monticello, AR
Posts: 648
Moving your betta would be great he'll love the extra room, alot more fish than most people think will work with a betta, neon and cardinal tetras are small colorful and fast enough the betta won't bother them, Cory cats hang out and play at the bottom but you need 5+ for them to be comfortable, plus they eat leftover food , sounds like you have a good plan, just get a liquid test kit to determine if your cycled or not and when you are add your fish slowly
__________________

__________________
Big-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 12
THANK YOU!! When I get the cory cats I should still only put them in the tank 2 at a time even though they like to be in larger schools?
__________________
xxlindaxx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 02:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Big-j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monticello, AR
Posts: 648
You can probably get away with adding 4+ corys at once they don't have a crazy high bioload like some fish
__________________
Big-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nearly out of the hobby austinsdad Archive 8 06-16-2009 08:26 PM
New to the hobby dbbuild19 Member Introductions 3 10-19-2008 03:40 PM
Hello all New to the hobby Gplayerz Member Introductions 11 10-30-2006 10:18 AM
(Somewhat) new to the hobby Blizzard Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 81 08-22-2005 11:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.