Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
New Member

Hello Fish Friends

I joined yesterday and thought I would sare my tank info. I recently down sized from a 110 gal to a 56 gal and switched from a fluval fx 5 to a eheim 2217. Currently I have 1 angle, 1 gourami, 3 clown loaches, 4 sparkel tetras, 1 para pleco, 1 neon and 1 silver dollar. After much research I added a prefilter sponge to the intake. The tank was set up 1 week ago with both filters running, yesterday in disconnected the fluval and have only the eheim running. I've tested the water, all results are good. I'm thinking of adding fish, any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by molly100a
Hello Fish Friends

I joined yesterday and thought I would sare my tank info. I recently down sized from a 110 gal to a 56 gal and switched from a fluval fx 5 to a eheim 2217. Currently I have 1 angle, 1 gourami, 3 clown loaches, 4 sparkel tetras, 1 para pleco, 1 neon and 1 silver dollar. After much research I added a prefilter sponge to the intake. The tank was set up 1 week ago with both filters running, yesterday in disconnected the fluval and have only the eheim running. I've tested the water, all results are good. I'm thinking of adding fish, any suggestions?
Welcome to AA! Is ur tank cycled? Can u provide the reads for ur water parameters? And y did u sponge the intake?
__________________

__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:22 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
I read that it is better for the filter, am i wrong
__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by molly100a
I read that it is better for the filter, am i wrong
Sponging the intake slows down the water flow and also prevents most debris from entering the filter which then break them down. Sponging it is also means ur filter intake will clog up quite quickly increasing maintenances.

Unless u have fish that likes slow current I don't see the benefits in Sponging the filter.
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
thank you, i will rmove it. The test results are ammo - 0, kh - 8, gh -180, ph -7, nitrate - 0, nitrite, 0. are these results ok?
__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by molly100a
thank you, i will rmove it. The test results are ammo - 0, kh - 8, gh -180, ph -7, nitrate - 0, nitrite, 0. are these results ok?
Yes they are good. but weird u don't have nitrate. Do u have any plants and have u recently done any pwc?
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
i did a wc yesterday, no plants, just drift wood
__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
retested, my nitrate is between 2 and 4
__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by molly100a
retested, my nitrate is between 2 and 4
O ok that's sounds great! Ya I think u are all good to add more fish! But do watch ur parameters making sure they stay within safe limits
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amherst NY
Posts: 282
thank you, i usually test every day when starting a new tank, i will send pics
__________________

__________________
molly100a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member Uncle Salty Member Introductions 8 01-03-2011 09:56 AM
new member dbefree3 Member Introductions 6 09-26-2010 03:36 AM
New member from MI. SlowGT Member Introductions 7 02-02-2009 02:55 PM
New Member Creamhorses Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-20-2006 12:21 PM
new member etienne Member Introductions 12 01-25-2006 12:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.