Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2012, 02:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by paytertot
What do you think about doing a fishless cycle for a while and then adding a few fish? Because it seems that you just don't have enough bb yet.
+1 I agree to this. It's probably the best way to go! Thanks for pointing this out paytertot
__________________

__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:03 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaKai

+1 I agree to this. It's probably the best way to go! Thanks for pointing this out paytertot
Thanks for the thanks! Haha I'm glad I'm giving the right advice.
__________________

__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:17 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
I thought I was doing a fishless cycle for the past 6 weeks that makes me think I am getting something wrong that it is taking so much time for such a small tank. Do you think it would be safe to add a couple of Danios now?
Whe I first set my tank up 2 years ago all I did was add the 2 small bottles of Nurifn cycle and water conditioner and then cloudy then clear within a few weeks added 3 Danios and only lost 1. After setting up tank again it was hazy but is now crystal clear and all looks well apart from the readings on test kit.
__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:22 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danio3
I thought I was doing a fishless cycle for the past 6 weeks that makes me think I am getting something wrong that it is taking so much time for such a small tank. Do you think it would be safe to add a couple of Danios now?
Whe I first set my tank up 2 years ago all I did was add the 2 small bottles of Nurifn cycle and water conditioner and then cloudy then clear within a few weeks added 3 Danios and only lost 1. After setting up tank again it was hazy but is now crystal clear and all looks well apart from the readings on test kit.
Umm can you tell us the readings again. I don't remember if you posted the readings. Nurfin sometimes works but sometimes doesn't. Have you been adding in an ammonia supply? That's fishless cycling. There's actually an article on here about it, but I can't get it since I'm on the app. Someone else, can you post it?
__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:31 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
For fishless cycle, you can either use fish food, or pure ammonia to get the cycle going. Putting in media from another tank will speed it up also. The advantage to using pure ammonia is that when you're finished you'll have a larger amount of bb, resulting in the ability to add more fish at a time. You can learn how to do a fishless cycle by just googling it, its pretty easy.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
I have read a number of articles on fishless cycling had great difficulty getting the correct ammonia but got some built ammonia levels to 4 got it down but not below1 added again to get 4 but still only drops to 1 lowest it has been is .5 with the ammonia blocker.
Recently I have not added ammonia and have tried small amounts of food. I have added nurafin cycle as per instructions a few times.What I have not seen is high nitrite readings this makes me think I cant have cycled the tank.
__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Hmm.. I think I may be stumped, this is where my knowledge ends. I hope someone else chimes in
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
Sorry no one seems to be able to offer a solution. This is a update of more info that might help.
I today took a sample of tank water to LFS they tested it in front of me water was perfect no ammonia no nitrite and a ph of 6.5.
Bought 2 rosy barbs acclimatised them and apart from initial hour they were sluggish for rest of the time. They were put in tank at 1.30 pm and by 6.30 pm they were struggling to swim and were turning over did a PW of 30% no change, filled a bowl with water and moved them but they did not recover.
I assume that even with a 23Litre tank the water could not have been polluted in this time by 2 fish to the extent that the fish died.
I did after starting the tank from scratch all these weeks ago added a heater (which I did not have before) could it be at fault in that could affect the fish?
Please help I am on the verge of giving up on this tank.
__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:48 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CoryFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 615
What decor do you have in the tank, please? Also, what is your filtration?

I am concerned that something may be leaking toxins into the water.
__________________
CoryFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:42 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
My filtration is part of the fluval edge and consists of sponge then carbon finally biomax all have been renewed at various stages.
My decor is some plastic plants and some resin and terracotta ornaments they were all in the tank for 2 years with no problems.
New this time round is bronze effect gravel and a submersible heater/ thermostat.
Today have tested the heater which has a lag of 5 degrees c. I also tested the voltage between water in the jug I was using to test heater and a earth and with heater on got a reading 14 VAC heater off was 6VAC.
On visiting two lfs today I was offered various advice non consistent but I opted to empty tank remove new gravel reinstate old gravel and leave out the heater and apart from dechlorinating water is pretty much back to what i started with originally.
Thanks for your help all is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supporting Member Dylan5359 Forum Admin & Announcements 0 06-30-2011 01:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.