Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
Question New Member

Hello to everyone hoping to get some advice on a Fluval Edge 23litre tank I have had the tank for 2 years now and had no problems until the end of November when all my fish died off at first I thought it was a disease but the more I read I think it was over stocked and when the fish were clearly unwell changed to much water and lost the bacteria in my filter.
As I thought it was disease I washed out the tank with diluted vinegar and replaced the gravel and changed all the filter media and at that time thought I understood the nitrogen cycle had water tests done by fish retailer all ok got fish died within hours. Now after 6 weeks of doing fishless cycle still seems that I cant get ammonia down below 1 nirates is less than 10 nitrites is 0 ph is 6.4 the hardness ones are o. My tap water has a reading of 1 for ammonia. Tank water on a test strip the chlorine reading bears no resemblance to the chart. If ammonia levels were my only problem I would expect the fish to last longer than 4 hours have I got a problem with Chlorine ? When I last went to the LFS his test indicated ammonia and he sold me a water treatment to block the ammonia which I added and my ammonia readings went to .5 , got 3 serpae tetras again they all died within 4 hours and I still get these readings I add dechlorinator have done numerous water changes but still not confident of getting more fish.
Can someone help I have been on other forums but cant quite get a solution to the problem.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: US, Ga
Posts: 2,508
Welcome to AA a greatt place! Hopefully someone can help you!
__________________

__________________
55G-Malawi setup
2 20G long-community (planted)
5G and 10g-Fry
30G- S. and C. America tank
Fishie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
Welcome Danio3! Thanks for joining AA!


__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Your tank isn't fully cycled, maybe you could try fishless cycling for a while, then introduce some hardy fish like danios or barbs?
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danio3
As I thought it was disease I washed out the tank with diluted vinegar and replaced the gravel and changed all the filter media and at that time thought I understood the nitrogen cycle had water tests done by fish retailer all ok got fish died within hours. Now after 6 weeks of doing fishless cycle still seems that I cant get ammonia down below 1 nirates is less than 10 nitrites is 0 ph is 6.4 the hardness ones are o. My tap water has a reading of 1 for ammonia. Tank water on a test strip the chlorine reading bears no resemblance to the chart. If ammonia levels were my only problem I would expect the fish to last longer than 4 hours have I got a problem with Chlorine ? When I last went to the LFS his test indicated ammonia and he sold me a water treatment to block the ammonia which I added and my ammonia readings went to .5 , got 3 serpae tetras again they all died within 4 hours and I still get these readings I add dechlorinator have done numerous water changes but still not confident of getting more fish.
Can someone help I have been on other forums but cant quite get a solution to the problem.
Thanks
Hi there! Welcome to AA!

First you're using test STRIPS. Those aren't very useful an are often wrong. Go out and buy the API freshwater liquid test kit. They have it on amazon for a great price.

The ammonia stuff you're using isn't really helping, it's more putting off the issue for a little while. When you get your test kit test the tap water. Check the codes for your local area and see if it's ok, sometimes it's the place you get your water from is the issue.

In the mean while, keep doing PWCs. If need be go get some RO water from your grocery store, the containers that you get water from or the jugs. They're only like $0.69 around where I live for 3L (1g). And keep doing changes daily.

Are you adding the chlorinator directly after the water change or before you put the water in? Or something else?

Also serpe tetras don't work in that. Size tank... Sorry. I hope that I've helped a bit, hopefully others can help even more!!!
__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
Thanks AquaKai
Yes I was using test strips then I got a API ammonia test kit and that is what I use to test my tank water for ammonia and my tap water both read 1 on the colour scale. Water company confirm ammonia added to water it is safe for humans but not fish.
I had bought the test strips before the ammonia test kit and use that for other tests.
The fish was the ones recommended by LFS and all other treatments I have bought have been recommended either on forums or by LFS, as it is costs are escalating for such a small tank that was bought to be of interest to my Grand kids.
__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
Sorry forgot to say I add the dechlorinator to the water that I am adding to the tank when I do a pwc.
This always worked for the 2 years previously.
__________________
Danio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danio3
Thanks AquaKai
Yes I was using test strips then I got a API ammonia test kit and that is what I use to test my tank water for ammonia and my tap water both read 1 on the colour scale. Water company confirm ammonia added to water it is safe for humans but not fish.
I had bought the test strips before the ammonia test kit and use that for other tests.
The fish was the ones recommended by LFS and all other treatments I have bought have been recommended either on forums or by LFS, as it is costs are escalating for such a small tank that was bought to be of interest to my Grand kids.
Ok, I just got a little confused at the whole strip-test tube thing. I have heard that sometimes when the tank is cycled that it can take the extra ammonia added in by the PWCs. But I've never had that happen.

I'm sorry to say that LFS and the other forums aren't necessarily telling you the truth about the fish. I haven't had serape tetras, but I've seen them and have had other people tell me about them. I have a tank that's similar in size to yours. I have a male betta in there and am planning on getting a few nano fish in there as well. I would highly suggest a betta, in my opinion they're on of the best fish. But look around on here for some other good suggestions! This place is by far one of the best forums on fish on the Internet.

For the ammonia issue, I can only suggest getting help from other people. One of the more seen people on here is mumma.of.two, she really knows her stuff and can help! Sorry, but this is just about where my knowledge ends with ammonia and cycling
__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danio3
Sorry forgot to say I add the dechlorinator to the water that I am adding to the tank when I do a pwc.
This always worked for the 2 years previously.
Ok, that's good. It sort of matters but as long as you're not waiting a while it's good!
__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
What do you think about doing a fishless cycle for a while and then adding a few fish? Because it seems that you just don't have enough bb yet.
__________________

__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supporting Member Dylan5359 Forum Admin & Announcements 0 06-30-2011 01:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.