Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-28-2014, 10:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
New member 35 gallon tank

I’m a newbie to aquariums and am looking for advice on how to set up my 35 gallon fish tank. I have a small 10 gallon tank now that was equipped. It is the (tank only) and I have no idea what items I need to purchase. How many filters, pumps, lighting, hood, etc. I’m new to this and am not looking to spend too much money and I am not sure what type of fish I want to put in it. Any assistance would be appreciated. I would like a list to take to the pet store or purchase online.
Thank you,

neak04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 03:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi! Welcome to AA!

Items you need for a freshwater 35 gallon (I don't know anything about saltwater, sorry):

*API water test kit--you need this to keep your fish healthy. It will allow you to monitor the levels of toxins in the water which are naturally produced by decaying fish food, waste and the natural process of respiration.
*Prime water conditioner--all tap water contains chemicals that are toxic to fish. You need a good water conditioner to neutralize them and make it safe for your fish to live in Prime is the best in the market.
*good filter--the higher the Gallons Per Hour (GPH) the better
*gravel vacuum--you'll need this to clean waste from the bottom of your tank
*substrate--Usually about a pound of sand or gravel is recommended per gallon. Whether you get sand or gravel will depend on what kind of fish you decide upon