Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-27-2014, 10:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mactec47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 17
New Member and Filter question

Good morn , did anyone over- do-it for our 1st Summer holiday ? I'm Maze47 . Anxious to jump right in, when using API's General Cure, should all filters be removed ? My 55 gal. tank has a Fluval 50 / Hydro-sponge/ Aquatech 30. Fluval contains foam insert, Bio-max and SeaChem Purigen. AquaTech has standard bio-media, removed carbon filter per directions. Lots of aeration. Thx in advance and enjoy your day !
__________________

__________________
mactec47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 10:14 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Welcome aboard. We are glad you found us here at AA.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:24 AM   #3
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by mactec47 View Post
Good morn , did anyone over- do-it for our 1st Summer holiday ? I'm Maze47 . Anxious to jump right in, when using API's General Cure, should all filters be removed ? My 55 gal. tank has a Fluval 50 / Hydro-sponge/ Aquatech 30. Fluval contains foam insert, Bio-max and SeaChem Purigen. AquaTech has standard bio-media, removed carbon filter per directions. Lots of aeration. Thx in advance and enjoy your day !

Hi, welcome.

Do you have a water test kit? The meds can knock the good bacteria around but you need to keep running some filtration as that is where most bacteria live.

In the past I have run one filter and turned the other off for a couple of days. I've tested for ammonia to check the bacteria are still coping.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, filter, new member

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello all new member from Cincinnati question on PH issue wwpo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 11-06-2013 06:02 PM
Hello, Everyone! New Member Here with a Question Regarding New Tank Cloudyness... Osage_Winter Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 09-09-2010 10:36 PM
New member has question about fading parrot head, no appetite DBubeck Member Introductions 0 03-30-2010 01:25 AM
new member with question SarahKay_1 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 9 04-17-2009 12:12 AM
New member, new addict, new pics... GIES2525 Show Off/Photography 5 02-25-2009 07:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.