New member/aquarist

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zfro09

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone my name is Zach I'm from Chicago. I just recently found out how amazing fish are (well I knew they were amazing) but never had them as pets. Unfortunately I was un educated and like many un educated people make bad decisions. So I bought a 55 Gallon setup and had no idea what cycling was. So I bought my fish and now I'm dealing with many issues unfortunately. But I've found much advice so I decided to become a member. So I hope you guys don't hate me because of my noobieness I'm here to make my fishies lives better.

Hi zach! Welcome to the forum :)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'm a newbie too. This forum is great. So many friendly and helpful peeps. Welcome welcome.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Hi and welcome! Keep an eye on your levels when ammonia gets to to .25 do a 50% water change it will ease the stress on your fish. Most people end up changing water twice a day. Good luck!

Thanks glad to be on here

Sent from my LG-E980 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Water changes twice a day? Just wondering if this is right? Thanks!

No water changes twice a day is not right.

Depends on the situation were dealing with actually. If your doing a fish in cycle and need the keep ammonia and nitrites levels down and they are jumping that fast, then yes it could be considered right.

On a normal cycled tank no. Once a week depending on the fish and sensitivity level to nitrates. Some tanks 2x a week others 1 time every 2 weeks. It varies too much to give a definate no.