New noob, redoing 55gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

russ452

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone. I've been reading lots of your posts and decided to join so I don't feel so much like a peeper. I am new to this and am redoing a 55gal freshwater tank in my living room. I want to go with mostly plants and have never had a planted tank. I've been reading everything I can find and am starting to get overwhelmed. I want to take my time and try to get it right the first time, haha. Anyway I'll be absorbing all the info you want to send my way. So...I'm thanking you in advance. :cool:

Welcome to AA. Our planted tank folks will be more than happy to help. A warning though, it is addictive.

Welcome Russ!
I know it can be overwhelming at first. :) If it seems too expensive, or too overwhelming, you can always go low tech at first and then expand on it later on. :)

What I did with my first 55 was get a fixture that was 2x65 watt power compacts and I ran 50/50 bulbs in it which gave me a med-low light level so I didn't need CO2 and I was able to grow a variety of plants in regular gravel with root tabs and virtually no other ferts as my water is hard enough to take care of a lot of trace elements with water changes. I stuck mostly with crypts and stems and it worked well.

Growth is also slower on lower light tanks so you don't have to trim as much. :) Definitely do your homework and have a plan, that is the best way to succeed but we are here to help so don't feel like you have to pioneer things. I would have never gone planted if it werent for all the resources I found here at AA. :) And I got plenty of advice from people in this wonderful community. :)
Best wishes to you!
:)