Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2006, 01:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
New to AA

Hi, my name is Jason, and I have been an.....oops. That's a different AA

I'm a reborn newbie to this. I used to have an aquarium, but that was well over 15 years ago.

I've recently purchased a 30G upright to try to get back into things.

Right now I am trying my patience by fish-cycling the aquarium. It's better than it was, but it seems to be taking longer than I had remembered.

Once fully cycled, I would like to try to introduce some rams and see if I can get them to breed.
__________________

__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 01:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Welcome to AA!!!
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 08:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Welcome to AA! The cycle can take a few weeks typically with fish, less with a fishless cycle.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Yeah, up until a little while ago I didn't even know that you could cycle the tank without fish. I had always done it with fish.

Right now, with some 10-30% water changes, I am keeping the ammonia down to no more than .5ppm (my test strips only show 0, .25, .5, 1, etc.). I don't want to do water changes until it reads less than .25, as the bacteria need some food. I should see them bringing it back to zero, not me.

So far, I have been astounded with the knowledge and experience on this forum.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 06:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Melissamustang
Welcome!!!!!!!
__________________
525 Salt water "Zoo"
Awesome!

Tell someone how you feel….Make a sweet comment and it will always make you feel good as well!
Melissamustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.