Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-14-2013, 07:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Talking New to AA (not the support group...)

Hi there!
I've been reading posts on Aquarium Advice and other fish keeper forums for a few months now, and I have to say that overall, I like this community the best.

I'm still new to the hobby. I got into keeping fish (or should that be keeping water ) through my 9yo daughter. I 'officially' adopted her Glofish Danio (in a 10g) when it was obvious she had no interest in them anymore. In those 4 months, I've changed everything about the tank except the substrate (okay... i added laterite) and got hooked pretty quickly. Now the tank is moderately planted with a 6" tall Anubis Nana, 3 Amazon Swords (all also about 6" tall), an El Nino Fern, several Wisteria, and a mass of Java Moss that I threaded through netting to make a tall, arced moss wall.

The wall is for the RCS to hide in and eat from - I have about 20 of them. They live with 5 Glofish Danio... and I actually think they are eating the shrimp.

I have two other small tanks- they are 3gallon crescents and each houses a Betta. Both are moderately planted with gentle filters. (I'm tired today and it seems like an awful lot of energy to detail them)

My filter media cartidges are modified - I've removed the carbon and replaced it with Aqueon Biomax, and I've added polishing pads to the filters as well.