Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-19-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New to aquariums

Heyy, im pretty new to all this but have had my tank set up for over two months now I have a 30L tank with 1 pleco and 1 black moor I just brought another black moor today who is a little bit smaller than my older one. The bigger one keeps nudging in to the smaller one he doesnt really seem very bothered and is quite happy swimming around. I was wondering if they will ever get along?? once the bigger one realises that the smaller one isn;t really that bothered or should i spilt them up sraight away ?. The smaller one can also fit in ornament i have in the tank to get away from the bigger one. Would really apprichiate any help as would hate for my smaller black moor to die

thanks kirst

Old 08-19-2011, 01:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to jcolon Send a message via Skype™ to jcolon
to AA!

By 30L I'm assuming you mean 30 Liters. If so, unfortunately, a 30L = about 7gallons .. tank is way too small for one goldfish let alone 2 ... not to mention the pleco which is another issue. Goldfish have huge bio-loads .. producing a bunch of waste = ammonia. The rule members will tell you in regards to Goldfish is 20gallons for the 1st goldfish, 10 gallons for each additional. So 2 Blackmoors are best in a 30 gallon = about 120 Liter tank. Blackmoors can also get up to 6+ inches in size and need room. In small tanks their growth gets stunted so while they stop growing on the outside ... their internal organs continue to grow.

If its a common Pleco .... they can grow up to 1 foot in size ... a bristlenose pleco get about 6 inches ... still too big for a 30L. Any chance of upgrading to a larger tank?

Old 08-19-2011, 02:16 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS