Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-21-2013, 12:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New to forums, and aquariums!

Hey there!
I'm asnyds, and I'm new to both forums and aquariums.

I've never maintained an aquarium by myself and I've decided to start one, I'm getting either a 40, or 55 gallon tank in the next few days from my uncle.

I have a lot of ideas for my aquarium and have done good research on fish available in my area.

My community idea right now is as follows -

Von Rio flame tetra - 4

Black phantom tetra - 3

Two-three weeks later I'm going to add in

Either - 2 of the smaller growing pleco OR 2 dwarf Cory catfish.
Also at that time I'm going to add one golden dojo loach for show (:

Also I plan on themeing the tank to a fantasy type thing in the future. I'm starting it with black gravel and a mix of red and green faux plants, and then two or 3 big decorations I saw at a local store - a nice sized castle, and a large fanged skull. After that I may add 3-4 glo tetra and some neon gravel to highlight in the black gravel. Only doing that if I decide to get the light that makes the glo tetra and neons really pop.

Open to any and all suggestions!
Buying fish is only a few weeks away! (:

Asnyds

Old 05-21-2013, 12:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
First of all, u need to do all the "new fish tank" cycles. Let the tank run ( fishless ) for a week or more. Test ur water every day and once the water levels r at normal range, then u can add fish. Do not add fish until u have finished the cycles.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion