New to owning an aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PrincessTamara

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there everyone. I am new to owning an aquarium. I do have a mating pair of freshwater angel fish. They are very aggressive, with humans and other fish alike. I rescued these Angels from a family who just didnt have time for them. I received a 10 gallon tank, and the research I have done, says they need to be in at least a 20 gallon, so I am on the look out for a 20 or 30 gallon. The previous owner said that they could not have any other fish in the tank with them, as they have killed everything they have tried, but I think that is because they had them in such small quarters. So there are all kinds of things I dont know about fish tanks, fish or really anything to do with the underwater world. I know how to take care of a basic betta fish, but that is the only fish I have owned previously, and I am told they are very much the same in taking care of them. I do have some questions about PH levels and about the test kits and whatnot. I was given a test kit with my set up, but the instructions were too damaged, I can not read them at all. So I need to know how many drops of this chemical dye stuff do I put into the test tube of aquarium water?? I know I have a lot to learn, so I am here to learn from those that have done this before. :fish1::fish2::thanks:

Great!!! Welcome!! Id suggest a 30 g tank for the angels, and maybe some larger tank mates that wouldnt get eaten! Now what tests were you wondering about? Is it an api master fw test kit? Good luck!

first off grats on the Angels, they are awesome fish. They will definitely need the bigger tank. I keep mine with a Birstlenose pleco & a small gourami and they did well together. There was a red tailed shark in the tank when he was little, but he's moved into our larger tank now.