New to Saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lilxxwojo1

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone! I am new to the world of saltwater aquariums as of last month. Previous to that I have kept various freshwater tanks with a great deal of success so I decided it was time to finally try saltwater. I am currently waiting for my new tank to mature... I started off with a mix of live sand and regular sand, waited about a week to get my pumps etc working and then I added 63 lbs of live rock. (Which even though it isn't the coveted fish I desire was still very interesting to look at.) I am learning a lot as I make my way through the process and despite my excitement I am being patient and progressing through to process at a slow and steady pace. Currently much of my tank has accumulated a brown "dusting" of some sort of algae (I heard this is normal in a new tank) and I'm waiting for my levels to drop. I'm assuming once the Nitrates are under control this unappealing layer will change or disappear (when or how I'm not entirely sure but I'm just watching for now). I am debating what my first addition to the tank should be because like any good aquarist I do not water to endanger any fish by putting them in a tank that is not quite ready. I am trying to decide if I should add a heartier fish or if I should add some snails and/or hermits to clean house first. I find the entire process very enlightening and exciting and I hope to learn all I can from those of you so kind as to share your wisdom with me. Have a great St. Patty's Day everyone!

you should probably get some snails and hermit crabs first than wait at least a week before you add your first fish(try to get a hardy fish like a false percula or royal gramma), you can also go to your lfs and ask them to test your water for chemicals. hope this helped