Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-27-2014, 01:03 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
I am ssooo confused right now and really hope you guys can help! Im probably overthinkin it but im worried. This is the box to my filter I read when treating for ich to remove the carbon but not the whole filter. My tank has a bio fiber built in that helps convert the tox ammonia and nitrates to harmless compounds and then has the carbon cartridge. So I would be okqy by removing the whole carbon cartridge? Im surprised last night I left it in and medicated and saw no result, tonight I treated and took it out and my fish are swimming eating and playing again and its only been about six hours. Am I doing omay? How long so I leave the carbon cartridge out? I know his probably isnt the place for my question but I figured you guys could relly help!

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1398575029627.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	209.3 KB
ID:	235054  
__________________

__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 01:39 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GreenLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 593
You are doing great! I actually don't use carbon cartridges unless I'm trying to remove medication from the tank or whenever the water isn't as clear as I'd like it. You can put the carbon back in after the treatment is over and the disease is gone.
__________________

__________________
GreenLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 02:36 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
That makes me feel so much better!!! Thank you soooo much!!!

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 04:41 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
Can I run my tank with no rocks deco nothing? Just for awhile?? I want to buy all newrocks and deco but want my tank to be filled back up and cycle for a month. Can I do that?

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:20 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GreenLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 593
You sure can. The decorations and substrate just give the fish a more sense of security, but I think they'll be fine for a month or so.
__________________
GreenLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:23 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
I have no fish right now. I have an empty tank. I just want the tank to run for a few weeks or so full and try to get he water perfect. When I do buy new fish I domt want thwm to die like my previous fish :/

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GreenLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 593
Whoops! I guess I didn't realize that there were no fish.. lol
__________________
GreenLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:06 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
Haha no big deal but would it be okay empty? And can I add rocks later with it full of water or is that hard?

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:10 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GreenLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 593
It will be just fine empty. Are you using gravel for substrate or sand? If gravel, then it will be easy to add that and any decorations when it has water in it, but sand is a different ball game because it will take a long time for it to settle, but will eventually settle. You would of course have to take some of the water out so that it won't overflow, but I think you probably knew that already.
__________________
GreenLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:11 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
AmieBarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 51
Of course haha but thats good to know. I just for another reason dont want to leave the tank empy bc I know drying can cause leaks

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
AmieBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
app

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Introducing Aquaribase Free App - Available now on App Store Aquarimate Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 25 08-24-2014 11:19 PM
Stumbled upon this website and downloaded the app - I am new! Who r u? Mr. Frontosa Member Introductions 4 12-15-2011 03:20 PM
new to this app. Here is my 46 bow Freshwater guy Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 6 04-05-2011 01:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.