New to the Fish World

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HeatherW

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi, I am new to the fish world. My daughter convinced me that she wanted fish so we got her a Betta for her birthday. She then went out (and I forget the order of events) and purchased fish and tanks. we now have two tanks - 2.5 gallon and 5 gallon. she set them up with a Betta and 5 neon tetras in the 2.5 and 2 platys and a dalmation molly in the 5 gallon. To make a long story short the fish ended up getting ick and dying, one of the fish (either the molly or one of the platys) had babbies and in the end we killed them all (probably by raising the temp too fast and possibly the addition of salt into the tank).
Somehow I got into the fish game and now really want to make this work. I have been working on the two smaller tanks but asked for and received a 20 gallon tank for Christmas. I am setting it up and very much would like to add fish to this tank but am a little nervous about adding fish too soon. I have a very solid track record of killing the fish I get. At the beginning of taking over the tanks my fish would not make it more than 1-2 days. I now have fish in the two smaller tanks and they are still living!:fish2: This is a big first step for me. I am now trying to decide what to do with my smaller tanks - keep them or move the fish I have into the bigger tanks.

welcome to AA! we all have to get started somehow ;) sorry it had to happen that way though :( the links bruinsbro posted are awesome, definitely give them a read! any ideas as to what types of fish you'd like to put in the twenty?