Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-14-2004, 10:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
New to the site and saltwater

Hello all. I've been lurking around the site for about a week, and I started My first salt water aquarium 2 weeks ago. I don't really know a lot in the ways of the technical aspect but I'm still learning.

For my first tank I chose a 20gal. When I started I put 35-40 lbs of live figi and tonga in it along with 25lbs of live sand. On day two I put 5 damsels (a domino, a zebra, a yellow tail, and 2 blue) and close to 20 small hermits in to speed up the cycle. I am happy to say that all but 1 damsel survived the cycle...... my cycle only took 6 days!

The Local fish store is only 8 miles away from my house and it's only 3 weeks old. Everything In my aquarium came from the same place. The staff at the store is very helpful and knowledgeable. They even test my water for me, and help me make educated decisions about my aquarium.

After my tank cycled and I was going to take the damsels back My wife made me start another tank for them so she could keep them. It's a small 10 gal. It will be fish only with live rock. This tank is two days old and doing well because I used water from the 20 gal's water change to help fill it up.

I got my first coral 2 days ago, A shroom, and It is doing quite well. The local store owner also gave me a star polyp frag to help see where we were in terms of what coral I could possibly get and when I could get it. Next week I will be getting my new lights and purchasing a green and black goniporia and 2 percula clowns.

If things work out with this one, I will be getting a much bigger tank in the years to come.

Nice to be here!

Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 11:01 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus