New to the site, New to Saltwater, aquired 55gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nickbme06

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone! My name is Nick and im in Mobile, AL. Im new to the aquarium scene. I just bought a 10 gallon from someone on craigs list and have it setup with about 13 tetras and some live plants (ill post pics soon). I just bought a 55 gallon tank and stand with pump and filters from a friend last night and im thinking about setting it up with FOWLR.

So theres my intro and ill post up some pics as soon as i can. Im still doing research on what all ill be needing to setup for cycling, but looks like im goign to go with 1" live coarse sand and 50% not live and 50% live rock for decor. I will want to prob go to live coral later, but i cannot afford that at this point.

I believe i have a magnum 350 for a pump and 2 bio wheel filters as well for that system. I have 1 power head and im going to sell it and get 2 new 50's. Im also going to get 2 50w heaters.

I cant seem to find a place locally that has good pricing on things, so it looks like im going to stick with buying online... any suggestions for good places to get good live sand and rock and you know this through experience with them?

Any other general advice, chime in :) And if your in the mobile area, dont be shy! I can learn some things from ya!

Thanks and i look foward to working with you guys here on the forum! :cool:

As an update to what i have,