Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-04-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New to this and worried!

Please help. I bought my first fish, 2 Platy's, 3 days ago. This was 5 days after setting up the tank with the filter & adding API Stress Coat and Stress Zyme. I'm new to caring for fish and followed the instructions given by the pet store. I wish I had found the online Fish forums before I bought my fish. My smallest platy, seems to have the bottom half of his tail fin missing, which I hadn't seen until the fish were properly in my tank. I rang the pet store, worried, but they said it would probably be fine! I've kept a close eye on my fish ever since and it seems unhappy, spending a lot of time hiding at the bottom of the tank. I have fed them once since bringing them home (based on feeding every other day) and they both fed fine. I fed tiny amounts and watched them both eat.
Please could someone give me some advice. I'm really worried for my little platy. Could it be the stress of the new tank or something to do with its tail? There doesn't appear to be any sign of infection on the tail. Should I do a 20% water change as soon as possible?
I would be really grateful for any help. Thank you.

Old 06-04-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist