New to this and worried!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sarah Brearley

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Please help. I bought my first fish, 2 Platy's, 3 days ago. This was 5 days after setting up the tank with the filter & adding API Stress Coat and Stress Zyme. I'm new to caring for fish and followed the instructions given by the pet store. I wish I had found the online Fish forums before I bought my fish. My smallest platy, seems to have the bottom half of his tail fin missing, which I hadn't seen until the fish were properly in my tank. I rang the pet store, worried, but they said it would probably be fine! I've kept a close eye on my fish ever since and it seems unhappy, spending a lot of time hiding at the bottom of the tank. I have fed them once since bringing them home (based on feeding every other day) and they both fed fine. I fed tiny amounts and watched them both eat.
Please could someone give me some advice. I'm really worried for my little platy. Could it be the stress of the new tank or something to do with its tail? There doesn't appear to be any sign of infection on the tail. Should I do a 20% water change as soon as possible?
I would be really grateful for any help. Thank you.

Ideally the tank would have been cyled for 2 weeks and water parameters checked before adding fish. Do you know what your water tests out at? A good aquarium cupboard staple is Melafix by API if you can get it. I swear by It as it is great at healing tissue probs etc in fish and is antibacterial. You could do a 20 percent change, add more stress zyme or Cycle is a good live bacrteria product by Nutrafin. Melafix is also a good preventativefor bacterial infections. Stress coat will also help fins to mend, it is safe to add with the Melafix. :)

sorry hn1 posted while i was writing. it's great advice. :)