Newb with experience

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thebluefox009

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Howdy!

I have had some experience with very basic tanks in the past, who know the ones all of us newbs have with a few basic fish and not much else in way of equipment. Alas those fish died quite quickly and I am here years later to try again with knowledge under my belt. I am thinking of starting up a 30 gal freshwater aquarium. Starting out I am thinking of my set up and that it will be a sand bottom, prolly a biowheel filter, fake plants, air stones and a few decorations. Fish wise I am still very uncertain and am looking into that. Eventually I want to expand myself to a live plant aquarium but we will see. Thanks everyone for providing a information filled place for all of us aquarium folks.

Brandon

Why not try a low light plant tank rather then start with fake and continue? You could easily do a dirted tank with a pea gravel cap and sand covering. Would look kind of neat and provide nutrients for the plants to grow healthy and without buying expensive lights. If your interested I can tell you in depth how to set that up. And also you can do so much with a 30gal :) I have bred convicts in a 30 and I have had a beautiful community. 30gal tasks are sweet :)