Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2010, 06:46 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
thanx for the link Thincat....until now, all i can see is only this crabby came out from the LR...and i think its already died...:p
right now im waiting the ammonia level to become 0...and a lil bit renovation for the stand..til then, im sorry there is no pic...wil update soon after everything is settle..owh...the is a lil bit question about the sump...in my sump, there is 4 partition..1. i put filter in it...2. i put bio ring...3. there is 200g LR...4. my return pump located.....my question...shud i maintain as it is or shud i remove the filter and bio ring coz there is comments i read from other web said those filter and bio ring shud be removed....

thanx in advance...
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:06 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Yes, now would be a good time to remove the bio-rings. You have enough LR to do all your filtering and the bio-rings would only be come a nitrate trap. They would also compete with the LR and cut down on the LR's ability to become an effeicent flilter. You can leave the sponge for now, but be aware that it has to be cleaned often.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:53 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
okay.....thanx for your advice...
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:03 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
updating.....

yesterday i was checking my water level...my nitrate 20ppm and my nitrite is 0ppm...my pH a lil bit decrease from 8.5 to 8.0.....in my tank i still can see the balance of the fish foods and the fish meat that i put last week...i already finish build my stand and my overflow box...
Question: shud i remove all the food balance in the tank or shud i let it in there for a couple of weeks..???

p/s: will update pics soon after ready...

thanx in advance...
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:28 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
It seems that your tank has cycled. do a large water change and test you water in about 3-5 days and you should be able to add fish slowly. Remember that your bioload has to build up to the fish load.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 01:26 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
okay...then i will do 50% water change or less? i'l do it today after work..

thanx in advance..
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 04:06 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
That's great! check it the next day or so if no ammonia or nitrite you should be okay to add a fish or two. After you add the fish be sure to check the ammonia level the next day to be sure...
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:09 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
okay then...thanx for your advice and guide....already change 50% of water....btw, there is still small piece of fish food and fish meat in the tank...shud i remove it from the tank or shud i let it be there until all gone?

thanx in advance....
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:04 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
got question here....which come first after ammonia..???
nitrites or nitrates?

thanx in advance
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:34 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
update....
okay...already check water parameter......
ammonia = 0.5
gH = 180
kH = 180
pH = 8.0
No2 = 0
No3 = 0
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beginner, malaysia, newbie

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice from a newbie to a newbie mdaniel2882 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-13-2009 09:21 PM
Another newbie here AngelsNgolds Member Introductions 6 10-07-2008 04:55 PM
Newbie here! rachaelsosilly Member Introductions 8 08-29-2008 04:01 PM
Another newbie :-) rafecci Member Introductions 16 08-20-2008 03:03 PM
Newbie beckyforvols Member Introductions 7 02-16-2008 05:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.