Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2010, 01:00 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Okay, has long as you have ammonia you are still not through with your cycle. You should see ammonia go to 0 and Nitrates start to raise.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 01:24 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
i believe the amonia came from the balance of the fish food and the fish meat that stil available in the tank..that is why my reading is 0.5 for ammonia..i'l make another big water change in this weekend..i have to do plumbing for my sump and DT and at that time i believe that i might do PWC....
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 01:35 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Ad, If your tank was truely cycked you would not see any ammonia no matter the food in the tank!
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 03:59 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
owh...then what shud i do...??? im planning on doing 10% PWC for 3 days and test the water parameters....is that okay? or shud i wait another week for PWC..??

thanx in advance...
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 03:11 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Do you have any Nitrates! If so then do the water changes. Since you have nothing in the tank you can do a bigger water change.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:28 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdhalim View Post
update....
okay...already check water parameter......
ammonia = 0.5
gH = 180
kH = 180
pH = 8.0
No2 = 0
No3 = 0
as the last water tested, there is no Nitrates....its only ammonia level which is 0.5...okay....then i will do another 50% water changes this weekend...

thanx in advance
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:43 AM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
You really can wait until you see some nitrates to do a water change. Although there is little bacteria in the water.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:26 AM   #58
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
okay.....then i'l wait if the nitrate and ammonia level appear this saturday or sunday....coz i'l do my plumbing system with my lil bro this coming weekend..maybe at that time i'l do another bigger water change...

thanx in advance....
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 10:17 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
update....
already done with the plumbing.....but my overflow box doesn't seem to work....the water flow very little until it stop then...i did like melevreef show...dril some hole and suck those air out....right now,my bro do another overflow box using flexible tube....maybe that 1 is easier.....not do any water testing rite now....but already add 2L water in my sump and the ammonia and nitrate will be 0...if so,i'l buy some chaeto algae....the water now cycle but the overflow WIP...hope will setle soon....

thanx in advance....
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:43 AM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
okay.....
done setup my tank,my plumbing and my stand......
here is some pic as i promise....plz do not hesitate for any comment...
test water parameter juz now....ammonia level 1.0ppm, No2=0, No3=0...huh

my 10g sump


from above


from front
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beginner, malaysia, newbie

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice from a newbie to a newbie mdaniel2882 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-13-2009 09:21 PM
Another newbie here AngelsNgolds Member Introductions 6 10-07-2008 04:55 PM
Newbie here! rachaelsosilly Member Introductions 8 08-29-2008 04:01 PM
Another newbie :-) rafecci Member Introductions 16 08-20-2008 03:03 PM
Newbie beckyforvols Member Introductions 7 02-16-2008 05:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.