Newbie to aquariums

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steven33

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I am a complete newbie to aquariums. My daughter got a couple of goldfish at a Carnival a few weeks ago and her birthday was a couple of days later so we decided to get a tank. We could only afford to start with a small one (10 gallon) but needless to say the fish only lasted a couple of days. We still have the tank and want to get a few more fish but want to do it right this time. I have seen discussion on other sites about tank cycling so that the right bacteria is in the tank to deal with ammonia and nitrate levels. Any advice would be much appreciated. We don't want to kill any more fish as our four year old was a little upset about her fish dying. Thanks for your help. Also what is a hearty fish or community we can get for this size tank?

I've heard that guppies or other small livebearers are perfect in a 10 gallon. Many come in bright, pretty colors that your 4 year old would probably love. :)

One thing to keep in mind with livebearers (and why I don't want any) - they're called LIVEbearers for a reason. Definite possibility of fry. Maybe that would be a good "facts of life" lesson, though?

I hope more experienced people chime in soon, and I hope you enjoy your new tank ! :D

Steven33 said: