Newbie with a few questions!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LeeSweeney

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am very new to marine fishkeeping. I have a 35ltr/10 gal setup. It is a biube tank that i have converted to saltwater. I use RSO (i think its called that) water that i buy from my local fish shop. It will be a fish only tank which i have stocked with cured live rock. It has been running for about 4 weeks and it currently houses 3 hermit crabs and 2 snails. The ammonia spike has been present for about 2 weeks with no signs of change yet.

I have seen that this first stage of the cycle lasts between 4 & 8 weeks as a general rule, but when does the countdown start? Is it from the time the tank is set up? Or from when the ammonia first spikes?

I was advised to add clean up crew by my local fish shop but since viewing other posts i am now worried that i was advised to do this for their financial gains rather than the health of my tank.

With the ammonia currently spiking does anyone know the likely hood of my crabs and snails coming to any harm? What would you recommend i do to reduce any potential risk?

Any advice or pointers in the right direction are greatly welcomed and appreciated. Many thanks in Advance

Oh and sorry to be rude. I didnt even think to introduce myself. Im Lee im 21 yrs old and this is my first saltwater tank. I have little experiance but am trying to do as much research as possible to ensure mistakes are minimised but with this being a new venture i am sure they are inevitable. I live in manchester england and i have little boy who is 8 months old.

Thanks Andrew, ammonia is at around1.0ppm sometimes slightly lower i believe thats ok but not too sure. I have not seen any nitrites but Nitates seem to be at about 10-20ppm. Do you think i need to take any action with regards to the health of my snails and crabs?