Noob!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ZomB

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Sup people. I'm a complete newbie! Got a pretty large tank from my neighbour that was moving out & ive decided to try & get it all set up.

I paid £20 & got a 36 inch tank, stand, a heater, protein skimmer & an external filter. Pretty good deal!

My neighbour was doing a marine set up but i think im going to be going for freshwater.

Started my set up yesterday. Got my gravel/substrate cleaned & in the tank. Got a few rocks & bogwood (the bogwood is currently soaking). Managed to get it filled up without collapsing my block of flats which was good. Unfortunately the filter is leaking near the taps!

Ive ordered some "O" rings which i seemed to be missing so im hoping that will fix the tap leak on the filter. That could take a few days to arrive so im a bit concerned that the water thats now just sitting there.

Will the water go stagnent or anything in the next few days or will it be ok? Hope i dont have to replace it all! Thanks

Hi ZomB, welcome to AA. if you have a pump put an airstone in there till you get your filter up and running, I don't think the water will get stagnant in a few days but it will help to oxygenate the tank. Good Luck!!.

Pete

Thanks for the reply...ive got another quick question though. I've got an air pump (cant believe they sell them without tubing!) & ive now plugged that in & fed it into the tank...it looks nice. :D Please excuse my ignorance but is the air being supplied by the tube ok to provide oxygen or do i still need an airstone?:confused: Thanks.

Just the tube itself is helping provide oxygen but an airstone is a much better source. I'm sure you can get one at walmart or something for a buck or two. Honestly if you get an "O" ring for your pump real soon I wouldn't worry about it, the water should be fine...Welcome to AA btw!