Outlaw's somewhat roundabout journey.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Outlaw

Aquarium Advice Regular
Greetings all!

I was asked to write an introduction to the community, so I figured I would tell the story of how I got here (careful what you ask for :).

While I have had SW aquaria in the past (worked at an aquarium store in my teens), it appears that everything has completely changed and I am back to newbie status (last time I had SW tanks, you wouldn't dream of not running an UG filter!).

So, a couple of months ago, all I had was a 20 gal FW community tank.

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408025240.593291.jpg

I was mentioning to a buddy that I wasn't satisfied, and I wanted a larger SW tank. I have been mentioning this to my wife for going on 20 years.

So, gradually I introduced the idea to my wife. When she finally agreed, she didn't want anything bigger than 30-40 gal in the house. I gradually convinced her that bigger is better and she warmed to the idea.

A few weeks later, a tank came up on craigslist that we had seen in the store, that she liked but wouldn't let me buy. It was a marineland 60 and stand with accessories for a good price. While I recognize that this is not a particularly good tank for SW, she said I could get it so I had to jump!

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408024906.088053.jpg

Initial aquascaping (not terribly enthused with it)

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408025315.692872.jpg

It soon became apparent, with additional research, that the stand is utterly worthless. I wanted a sump!

A couple weeks later, my buddy was breaking down his 55 gal and offered it to me for free. My wife actually let me have it! Of course it sprang a leak on the way to the truck so it needs a reseal, and the stand is toast.

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408025524.548681.jpg