Pre-tanker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishtanknoob2012

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Howdy everyone I'm new to all the fish stuff but my step brother got a tank and all he has is some glass catfish and kois. It intrigues me and I was thinking about starting an aquarium. I want a predatory tank and I seen a hifin wolf fish or erythrinus erythrinus and I'm fascinated by them. Could someone assist me on what all I need?

Thanks I was thinking about getting a 55 gallon FW tank what would I need to get it going?

Wow, that's a nice size tank. That link I posted will give you most of the information you need to get started. If you have specific questions about what filtration, heater, etc. and what others here use and recommend, you might start a thread in "getting started". By the time I had been here a while and read others posts I had a good idea of what I needed when I started my first tank after a long hiatus from fish. Please, if anything is confusing, or not answered in your reading or research, please ask. People here are really nice about sharing their experience. While some people will be pretty direct if they notice something that isn't optimal for the living things you are keeping, in my experience the spirit here is one of helpfulness to keep your fish healthy and you successful. Best wishes, ask questions, and please share your experiences.

Thanks a lot I read that page that you added it and it answered most of my questions I appreciate it now I'm on a mission!!!!

I'm so glad it helped. It sounds,like a great mission to me. Have fun!