S.R. and his Insane Ideas!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mr.waffles1842

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi!
Among other names, I'm called S.R. I have different point of views on the finer points of aqaurium keeping then other people. Am I an expert? NO!!! Far from it! I do have a flourishing tank fishwise, but struggle with plants. I never can find that sweet spot of water hardness... Want to know one of my "Insane ideas?" Well, here's one that you may frown on. I often keep shoaling fish in small groups. I'm trying to get them to be more comfortable in small groups. This is in my smaller tank, not my community aquarium. I've been doing this for 5 years, and i still struggle, but one day i'll make my aquarium be just how I like it! :angel:

First off, Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

Want to know one of my "Insane ideas?" Well, here's one that you may frown on. I often keep shoaling fish in small groups. I'm trying to get them to be more comfortable in small groups. This is in my smaller tank, not my community aquarium. I've been doing this for 5 years, and i still struggle, but one day i'll make my aquarium be just how I like it! :angel:

Why would you do this? Yes, most people disagree with it because it stresses the fish. Not trying to be rude, but why would you get an animal just to stress it out. The reason you struggle is when schooling species are not allowed to preform their natural behavior it stresses them and weakens their immune system. I would really suggest you stop this practice.

With respect to your last sentence; This is where you have to take one of two paths of fish keeping:

1. Do what is best for the fish and can work for you
2 Or do what you like with no regard to the fish's needs.