Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-27-2008, 06:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Saskatchewan, Canada

Hello all!

After trolling these forums for awhile I thought I would register and introduce myself. My real name is Brett and I am a third year student at the University of Saskatchewan.

I started this hobby in January of this year. I decided to get into fish after I was exposed to the world of Scuba Diving. I instantly fell in love. In January when I got back from my trip, my roomate and I went to the LFS and picked up a 20gal. I asked the people at the store about starting out, not a word was ever mentioned about cycling. I was sent home with several fish.

When I first started I lost quite a few fish, and I couldn't understand why. Unfortunately the LFS people were of no help either. I decided I needed another source of information, something more reliable, people with experience. So I started searching around and somehow stumbled upon this site. Im glad I did!

Currently my tank is doing much better, it's home to:
  • 1x Red wag platy
  • 1x Micky Mouse platy (currently mother of around 20 fry)
  • 1x Peculiarly small platy (doesn't seem to grow)
  • 1x Neon Tetra (Had 3 Neons and 5 Cardinals, however they all died during the cycling. Didn't think he would make it, but he did. Contemplating getting more once I sell the fry)
  • 1x Albino Corydoras Catfish (Another LFS mistake, told me I only needed one)
I am highly interested in starting a planted tank soon, presently my tank contains only fake plants. Ive found quite a few useful links from these forums. You'll probably see me in there asking dumb questions when summer roles around

I look forward to learning a lot from this community, everyone seems incredibly helpful.

Brett