Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-02-2012, 11:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Post seeding new 55 gallon tank

Hi everyone, glad to be a part of the crew.
I started out looking for a fighting fish and ended walking out of the local FS with a 30L tropical starter kit 18 months ago,Awesome decision. out took a while to cycle and some hard work due to not being patient and adding a couple guppys. Turns out it payed off, haven't had water quality or clarity issues yet.

Finally I have just set up my new 55 gallon tank and can't wait for the cycle to begin.
It's been 3 days water was De chlorinated 24hrs before I added 2 Hardy fish to get it.going. Seeded the tank by squeezing my established filter sponge near the filter inlet.

PH = 6.8 steady
Still no ammonia yet. Hopefully this cycle won't for ever due to the tank size.
photo is on my profile album.
do the bubbles help?
__________________

__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pton46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 421
Can you put a piece of the "old Filter" in the New Filter. I don't think just squeezing the filter sponge will do it....
__________________

__________________
60 gallon(Parrots and Convicts) 55 gallon African Cichlids 5 gallon Betta tank 35 Gallon Hex (Bolivian Rams, Oto cats, Bloodfin Tetra and a shoal of Tiger Barbs) 75 Gallon Oscar Condo. 30 gallon GBRs & Danios
Pton46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Should I wait for an ammonia reading 1st ?
__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Even if there is no ammonia reading on the test there will be ammonia. Fish are always giving it off. Adding a good sized bit of seeded media and very few fish to begin with can almost instantly cycle a tank.

Btw welcome to AA!
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
How instant we talking here? the established one is only a small filter but I reckon I can get away with a handful of those ceramic tubes and black plastic thingys.

Thanks for the quick responses guys.
__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Well it depends on how much seeded media and how much ammonia the fish produce and if the bacteria go into 'shock' from temp change, pH change, etc. eg: I have instantly cycled a Betta tank with a half handful of ceramic rings from the canister in a goldfish tank. No detectable ammonia or nitrite only nitrate after about a week.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
The temp has been slowly rising from 26 and steady at 27 for the last 2 days. PH I keep at 6.8. So hopefully it's ticking along nicely, I'll put a handful in the new filter tonight and see what readings I get tomorrow. Do you think keeping the bubble curtain on oxygenating the water will help the process?
Coz there's heaps of tiny bubbles.floating around ATM.
__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
The bacteria do benefit from lots of oxygen but IMO they get enough from the water churning in the filter. If you like it leave it but if not its fine to turn off.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:30 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Awesome thanks for your help.
__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 09:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Just added a handful of used media to the new filter Day 4 still no readings.
Ph 6.8
NH 0
NO2 0
NO3 0
Th inking about adding a couple tetras.
__________________

__________________
stussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon, cycle, new tank, seed, seeding, starting tank, tan, time

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
180 gallon Discus planted OBEYtheFISH Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 259 07-03-2012 12:01 PM
Scott's DIY 10 Gallon Nano Build scottayy Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 321 05-30-2012 01:51 AM
Baby snails in tank without snails??? Lotsofbabies Freshwater & Brackish - Invertebrates 18 04-12-2012 01:35 AM
New here, dont know too much, looking to learn!!e Gman91189 Member Introductions 11 04-02-2012 01:59 PM
Vacant Hospital tank? Just curious? My Fish Babies. Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 04-02-2012 12:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.