Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-08-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

setting up a 10g, suggestions?

Hello everyone!
I am new here. My friend just gave me his 10g he wasn't using and I want to set it up (fresh water) and am currently looking into different species. This will be my first tank so I'm pretty new at this. I am thinking I want a couple of chiclids. I know they are aggressive, so I wouldn't have anyone else in there besides them, and because its small, I'm thinking only 3. I want something with impressive colors but something that is also fairly hearty. Any suggestions?

Old 09-08-2013, 08:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerRuth View Post
Hello everyone!
I am new here. My friend just gave me his 10g he wasn't using and I want to set it up (fresh water) and am currently looking into different species. This will be my first tank so I'm pretty new at this. I am thinking I want a couple of chiclids. I know they are aggressive, so I wouldn't have anyone else in there besides them, and because its small, I'm thinking only 3. I want something with impressive colors but something that is also fairly hearty. Any suggestions?
Unfortunately that aquarium is way too small for chiclids. I would recommend neon tetras. They have a very pretty color. They school so you need at least five. Then you could have some guppies or swordtails.

Old 09-08-2013, 08:17 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taiken5968 View Post

Unfortunately that aquarium is way too small for chiclids. I would recommend neon tetras. They have a very pretty color. They school so you need at least five. Then you could have some guppies or swordtails.
Oh ok, thanks for the advice, that sounds like a great combo
Old 09-08-2013, 08:21 PM   #4