Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Setting up used 84 Gallon tank...HELP!

I just bought a used 84 gallon tank for $300. It has undergravel filters, two HOB filters, rocks, plastic plants, castles...etc.. Do I still need to cycle the tank or will the bacteria that is presently in the tank be enough to start? I know I will have to test for Nitrite, Nitrate and amonia. But if the levels are right can I assume that I can introduce fish or should I induce a cycle? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Welcome to AA. I assume this is a FW tank?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
Unless the gravel and filters have been kept wet and aerated during the move you will most likely have to cycle again, although it may go quicker than starting from scratch. It's always safer to plan on a cycle than not. FWIW, I wouldn't keep the UG filter as they are more of a pain than they are worth.
__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:16 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Welcome to the site!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:36 PM   #5
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
It is a FW tank. Right now the tank has a couple inches of water with the gravel. Planned on moving it with the wet gravel tonight. Think I will do a cycle just to be safe. Should I make it cycle by adding ammonia or wont I have to?
__________________
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Alaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 514
Hi and Welcome!
You might want to post your question in the Freshwater-Getting Started forum. There are some members that don't check this one.

I would think that you would start the fishless cycle like usual just treating the gravel as a seed that will speed up the process (if there's anything left in it).
__________________

__________________
10 gallon FW ~ male betta, 3 pygmy corys, 3 oto cats, java fern, java moss
Alaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up 55 gallon tank tampa Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 09-13-2009 11:19 PM
Help setting up a used 84 Gallon tank spoonman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-28-2008 08:45 PM
Setting up 90 Gallon Tank Brian L General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-27-2008 03:33 AM
Setting up a 55 gallon tank ADCISCO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 01-11-2004 08:46 PM
Setting up a 55 gallon tank....help me please!! kris_toledo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 10-07-2002 11:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.