Theres tons of people who join this site

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

doberman15

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Holy cow I'm one in a million with my first hello post.

I'm fairly new to having an aquarium. I've had them in my house when I was young, but it was my parent's. All I did was help them from time to time with water changes or cleaning it. Certainly wasn't something I cared much to learn about. Now it's my turn to have my own.

I just finished cycling my tank a week or two ago. I got my little bit of green algae bloom here and there. I added fish slowly through the cycling. I know you're not suppose to do that, but I figured using the drip acclimation I'd get them use to their new environment well enough that they'd be fine. Sure enough I only lost one black kuhli loach. He seemed to be not doing great at the Pet Store, but I figured I'd take my chances. I think he was over exposed to the lighting at the Pet Store, so he was doomed before I even got him.

My first fish I got to start my cycling was a black molly. I was warned by the lady at the pet store that they're really hard to acclimate to their new tank, and aren't usually successful for cycling with. I of course being who I am took this as a challenge. I found success in changing one gallon out of my ten gallon tank every day after work. I'd let it sit for 2 or 3 days through the weekend and try to let the bacteria build up higher, then did a 50% water change before bed on Sundays. I was surprised that it seemed to go as well as it did. My tank cycled in about 4 weeks.