TOTAL Newbie here!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RooRoo

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone! Happy to be here. This seems to be a very active forum!! I am an absolute newbie to fish keeping, never had an aquarium before, ever. I have been doing tons of research on the net, from books, and have been a fixture in the local pet shops questioning everyone I can! :eek:) That all has brought me here.

I currently have nothing, and am in the process of shopping for a tank/stand. I found a combo at Petsmart that interests me, however I am not sure because of its dimensions. It is a 60 gallon Marineland tank, it is only 12 inches wide, so it is very tall and skinny. I'm not the tallest person, and was thinking it could be difficult to clean and maintain. I have also been told that being tall and skinny reduces surface area and that will reduce quality of water and the oxygenation. Any thoughts on that? Any thoughts on a good starter tank for a total newcomer?

I am thinking Platies, Tetras, smaller schooling fish. I considered a Barb tank, but I'm not sure I want just one species. Any advice on peaceful tankmates is welcome. I'm glad to be here, and hope to meet some new friends who can help me along the way!!

Welcome to AA! You'll definately learn from the best...
I just started here a couple weeks ago (complete newbie to any fish... now I'm in love with goldfish) and I've been able to make up for my mistakes, and am establishing an awesome tank :D
You're so smart to do your research before hand... I wish I did that :( Oh well, live and learn.