Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-12-2014, 01:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Tropical Fish Keeper

Hello everyone!

I am a beginner where Tropical fish are concerned, along with my daughter. We currently have a 60L tank which is home to Black-Skirted Tetras, Golden Barbs, Gouramis and Mollies. We did have a Pleco and a Silver Shark but these were re-homed as they were outgrowing the tank.

The Filter we use is the Fluval U2 Internal Underwater and have had this for six months but unfortunately, recently it seems to only work intermittently. I have sussed it out to be the small 'fan' that is situated under the middle container which houses the Biomax Bio rings.

I am debating whether to contact the seller of this filter and see what result I will have or would anyone recommend an external filter? I have read that the Eheim is a good external one.

Your advice would be really appreciated!
Thank you for reading

Old 01-12-2014, 05:37 PM   #2
Look It Up

Hi and welcome! Unfortunately your overstocked for your tank space and underfiltered. At the very least I would add more filtration; an Aquaclear 50 or 70 would do. You'll need to upgrade the tank size for those fish in the long-run though.

librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Eheim are highly recommended german built filters.
Old 01-12-2014, 09:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by librarygirl View Post
Hi and welcome! Unfortunately your overstocked for your tank space and underfiltered. At the very least I would add more filtration; an Aquaclear 50 or 70 would do. You'll need to upgrade the tank size for those fish in the long-run though.