Tropical Fish Keeper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Holtie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone!

I am a beginner where Tropical fish are concerned, along with my daughter. We currently have a 60L tank which is home to Black-Skirted Tetras, Golden Barbs, Gouramis and Mollies. We did have a Pleco and a Silver Shark but these were re-homed as they were outgrowing the tank.

The Filter we use is the Fluval U2 Internal Underwater and have had this for six months but unfortunately, recently it seems to only work intermittently. I have sussed it out to be the small 'fan' that is situated under the middle container which houses the Biomax Bio rings.

I am debating whether to contact the seller of this filter and see what result I will have or would anyone recommend an external filter? I have read that the Eheim is a good external one.

Your advice would be really appreciated!
Thank you for reading :)

Hi and welcome! Unfortunately your overstocked for your tank space and underfiltered. At the very least I would add more filtration; an Aquaclear 50 or 70 would do. You'll need to upgrade the tank size for those fish in the long-run though.

Hi and welcome! Unfortunately your overstocked for your tank space and underfiltered. At the very least I would add more filtration; an Aquaclear 50 or 70 would do. You'll need to upgrade the tank size for those fish in the long-run though.

Yep librarygirl is right, I dont know your financial situation but a larger tank will be needed for alot of those fish you mentioned. The u2 has barely any room for media 2 prefilter sponges either side and a small plastic case for bio nodes/balls. Not bad for an internal for a lightly stocked 60. What pleco do you have?