Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-23-2017, 10:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Perth, Australi
Posts: 16
Upgraded community tank

Hi, we recently upgraded our 85L tank to a 292L and getting used to the scale of things. I used to only test ammonia but New tank came with full test kit. Transferred all fish, gravel and toys and cycling seemed to stabilise with ING 1 week so presumably bacteria survived the transfer.
Have now added 6 clown loach, 1 leopard pleco. I plan to add some cardinal tetra and 1 discus once settled.
The ph seems to be all over the place. For 3 weeks was too high at 7.8
I added pH decreased , enough to reduce ph by 0.5, which did nothing after a few days so I repeated. A week later ph is now 6.8 so bit too low.
The clowns were all hiding but now have come out but only 5. Could a rotting carcass hidden somewhere cause the ph to drop. But have not seen any ammonia, nitrate or nitrite, all sitting at zero
Was planning to add some driftwood to bring ph down, but not certain that is a good idea now!
Thought Id do a water change (not used to how long that takes for such a big tank)
AClick image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1514082582.191476.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	233.6 KB
ID:	305742
__________________

__________________
Brucej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 01:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,115
Bruce
Not a good idea to alter you PH with chemicals. It usually will not stablize and rebound back up. Its likely that your initial high PH reflects your tap. If you are worried about high PH in relation to your planned Discus project, don't. I successfully kept Discus for years in water with 8.0 to 8.2 PH. With Discus, pristine, relatively hot water, is far more important than PH.
If you are set on the lower PH, like you noted, add driftwood. Another way to lower PH is to run
Peat moss in your power filter. Either way the tannins will stain your water.
__________________

__________________
V227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 02:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Elk Grove, California
Posts: 68
Hi! Like it has been suggested, no need to adjust the pH for discus unless you are breeding them. It can do more harm then good. Also, I would seriously reconsider adding discus to this set-up because of the amount you are adding and the fish you are putting with them. Discus need to be with their own kind, they are a social fish and , at the very lest, should be in a group of 5. With one in your tank it will slowly decline in health as the stress it will undergo ( by itself) will eventually cause it to succumb to illness. Discus are not hard, per say, but, they do have some very particular needs for care that if they are not followed will make it difficult to be successful with them. The other issue is putting clown loaches with them. the movements of clown loaches are too fast and this will certainly stress out the slow movements of the discus. Also, clown loaches have been known to be drawn to the thick mucus that covers the discus' body. They will harrass them. especially when lights are out.
__________________
Discusluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 05:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Perth, Australi
Posts: 16
Thanks for the advice, will stop worrying about it. Will probably hold off on the discuss since it looks like the clowns and pleco will get pretty big, and I might need te reduce number of clowns. The fish shop suggested wed be fine with a Discus but looks very much like they just wanted to sell some more fish... willl probably get some cardinal tetras maybe some hippies instead
__________________
Brucej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 03:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Elk Grove, California
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucej View Post
Thanks for the advice, will stop worrying about it. Will probably hold off on the discuss since it looks like the clowns and pleco will get pretty big, and I might need te reduce number of clowns. The fish shop suggested we’d be fine with a Discus but looks very much like they just wanted to sell some more fish... willl probably get some cardinal tetras maybe some hippies instead
Yeah, the LFS has a tendency to do that-- the goal is to make a profit on their part- not education. Im sure that there are exceptions, but, I haven't seen any.. It is wise to do research on fish you would like to keep prior to going to the fish-store or look at what they have and go home and look the fish up to see if they will work in your set-up. Clown loaches get very large and do best in groups- they are a gregarious fish. In a 75 gallon, I wouldn't do any more than 3 ( and definitely not less) if you want other fish as well.
__________________
Discusluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 05:35 PM   #6
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,228
Welcome
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 01:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
speedy51's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 138
Welcome to AA. I agree it’s not a good idea to alter your ph with chemicals
__________________

__________________
100 Gallon Reef Tank - Work Tank
300 Gallon Freshwater Tank - New Build
speedy51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
community, community tank, tan, tank, unit, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded from 15g to 38g Planted tank check it out!!! dbbyjc1 Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 6 10-06-2011 07:33 PM
HELP on upgraded tank please GoldenPlecTony Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-11-2011 03:44 AM
10gal planted shrimp tank needs upgraded strokinbyeu Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-25-2011 05:50 PM
upgraded my tank size recently and have had an outbreak Wazz72 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 11-22-2010 08:59 PM
got some used stuffokay, My neighbor got a new upgraded tank tmkx3 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-05-2006 02:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.