Very new and very inexperienced

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newtomarine

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. My name is Brandie and I am very new to salt water aquariums and frankly, I'm not doing very well at it. I've had a freshwater for a little over a year and it is running very well. I have a very aggressive parrot fish who thinks she needs to run the whole tank, but I've paired her with some fish that don't take any crap from her. :D
So, I started a salt water tank about 3 months ago. I let it run for a little over a month before putting anything into it. I want to run a good tank, but everything keeps dying. I've put a clownfish, some damsels, a blenny, a dragonet, a cardinal fish, and a horseshoe crab in. Everything has died except 1 damsel, the blenny, and the crab. :( I check nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, ph, alkalinity all the time and everything looks good. Salt level is good, temp is good. I just don't know what to do. So, I've turned to you guys. Please, if you respond, talk in laymans terms. I've very new and I don't get all the abbreviations quite yet. Thank you.

WELCOME TO AA!!!!

Have you properly cycled the tank?
Do you have a test kit? If so, what are your parameters (good doesn't always mean safe)?
That parrot needs a minimum of a 50G tank, so that might have caused the agression.
That horse shoe crab will get about as big as a football.
You also have to take into account adding too many fish at once will not let your tank's beneficial bacteria catch up to the new bioload.
Just hang in there and will get you up and running.

Yeah, I know I need to upgrade to a bigger tank for my parrot and I will.