Very new to fishkeeping, and I need help!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newbiefish0329

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I am very new to fishkeeping, and I have lots of questions!!!
Here's what I have:
one of those split tiny betta tanks (don't judge, they are my kid's fishies):has two bettas in it
a 46g bow front freshwater tank that was started on 7/19:has 3 fish and 2 tiny catfish (I am such the newbie that I don't even know what kind of fish they are.. I will pay more attention when the fish store guy gives them to me, LOL)
a 10g tank with a broken filter, with one pregnant neon tetra in it..

I really truly don't know what I am doing.. I need so much advice, and I have so many questions...

1) do I replace the 10g tank now that the filter is broken? The filter came with the tank and isn't replaceable.
2) Can I keep the pregnant fish in that tank? What do I do once she has babies? What do I do with the babies?
3) The other fish that was in the tank with the pregnant fish was moved to the big fish tank (stupid move), and died this morning. I saw the catfish eating him! What do I do with the big tank now? Do I change the water? Do I just condition it again?
4) I have only had fish in the big tank for a week or so, so I don't think the tank has fully 'cycled'. When do I change the water? And to what degree, 10%, 25%, gravel vaccuum?

Please, let me know what I should do.
Thanks!!
Dara

Welcome to the forum.

First things first, you MUST read this: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice

You've got a couple of issues going on here. It seems you understand that you need filtered tanks, but I get the feeling you don't really understand what "cycling" a tank entails. The link will help you see what's going on and what you need to do.